Home » MTFJ Members » Nelson/Tasman

Nelson/Tasman Region

The Nelson/Tasman region is located on the North Western shores of the South Island of New Zealand and has a population of around 95,000. The region contains the second-oldest settled city in New Zealand, Nelson, and is the oldest in the South Island. The Nelson/Tasman region has a temperate oceanic climate, with cool winters and warm summers. 

The region's economy is based on four big industries; Seafood, Horticulture, Tourism and Forestry. It is also home to the biggest fishing port in Australasia.

The region consists of two Unitary Authorities; Nelson City and the Tasman District.

NZ silhouette

Council maps

The maps below outline the boundaries for all regional, district and city councils in New Zealand.

North Island map South Island map